Feeling Fancy

Feeling Fancy

Today’s writing prompt is:

Feeling Fancy
You’re given unlimited funds to plan one day full of any and all luxuries you normally can’t afford. Tell us about your extravagant day with as much detail as possible.

Ahhh yes, finally all that rubbing on the lamp has paid off. Poof the Genie is out of the bottle, flexing and ready to start granting, and I am dreaming and ready to start wishing! Just wishin’ and hopin’ and thinkin’ and prayin’ and plannin’ and dreamin’…Dusty Springfield voice trails off.

Take a moment to journey with me and my most magnificent day.

First of all, I’m awakened by my house hunk to catch the sunrise as it peaks over the horizon, of the private island that I have secured for just this, occasion. And it is beautiful. The varying shades of oranges and yellows, sandwiched by the blue of the sky and the blue water of the Pacific ocean. The villa has 360 degree views of the island and the beautiful blue green waters that surround it. As I stand on the balcony and breath in the crisp lightly salted air , I hold it to savor the moment. Eyes closed, head back arms outstretched to the side I allow my mind to be carried away to my next destination by the gentle ocean breeze.

Next, it’s horseback riding in the lush rainforest of the Big island. It’s everything I hoped it would be. The peace I feel is almost palpable. It’s a leisure ride in the valley that is surrounded by green mountains dotted with pockets of color from the wildflowers that flourish there. I can hear the sounds of the native creatures calling to one another, distance sounds of the many waterfalls gently expanding their reach, and the crunch of the forest floor underneath my riding buddy’s hooves. Heaven on earth is what comes to mind. As we ride on, I allow my mind to drift on to my next destination.

Dressed in my parker, boots, fury hat and gloves I could easily be mistaken for umm a visitor to this what could only be described as otherwordly, yet magnificently beautiful plot of almost untouched earth spread before me. The site before me is simply breathtaking. There are peaks of varying shades of white separated by the bluest of blue sky that seems to slice through the peaks. And it’s fronted by the icy blue ocean water, littered by tiny ice islands that have broken free. It’s so surreal that at any moment I expect to hear the narrator from the Discovery channel, begin his tale of how only the red billed squatter penguins are the only inhabitants of this glacier and they only nest here twice a year. Though it’s well below freezing, what washes over me is this, it’s December, snowing outside and you have been stuck in traffic for over and hour it’s been a rough day and you arrive home to a crackling fire, your favorite comfy jammies and a cup of your favorite hot beverage is waiting for you. Or a clean house with no kids, you call it. As I surrender to this feeling, I allow my mind to wonder to my next destination.

My drifting is cut short by the realization that this glorious day is all but over. Cinderella mode sets in, the bong of the clock striking 12 has started. Hastily, I decide there is only one thing left to do. And that is to click buy on the Apple stock purchase! Or maybe Chipotle, either way, perfect end to a perfect day.

Leave a Reply

