His First Love

Whenever we communicate, he never calls me by my name. He calls me his First Love. Each time it catches me off guard. And each time it transports me back to a time of belly butterflies, giggles, and daydreams.
My first love was a beautiful love. I was 13 and he was 15. He was kind and caring.  Such a beautiful time. He came at a time when I needed him most. I think for as much as we knew about love, he really did love me and I him.

When we communicate he never calls me by my name, he always calls me his First Love. Each time it brings an instant smile to my face and I’m transported back in time. It’s a time of daydreams in class with silly grins on my face. Doodling my first name with his last incased in a heart. Oh the memories. Puppy love at it’s finest.

first-love-never-dies[1]   When we communicate he never calls me by my name, he calls me his First Love. Each time I’m instantly transported back to a time of hours on a rotary phone, with a long cord, curled up on my bed talking sweet and low. Signifying his jokes with sweet giggles. This love beckons to me. With my head under the covers professing my love and receiving his, it becomes a love tent. In that tent for that time my world is perfect. Until, my mama realizes that the extra long phone cord is stretched into the love tent. My mama saying hang up that’s enough. But it’s never enough. Then we play, you hang up first. And it goes like this, No you hang up first. No you. No you.  Ok same time when I count to 3. 1-2-3. You didn’t hang up. You either. Then we laugh and start over again and again, until a final warning from mama says she means it this time.

When we communicate he never calls me by my name, he calls me his First Love. Each time he does I’m transported to a time of writing him letters of all the things I can’t say. The I’s all dotted with hearts and the closing is,
2 of us
2 gether
4 ever
It’s carefully folded and addressed to my mister from his misses and sealed with hearts and kisses. It requires a special delivery.

When we communicate he never calls me by my name, he always calls me his First Love.

Life-FirstLoveScreenSlide-Red[1]

 

 

Leave a Reply

